Meet Gretchen!

20150312_164924

Gretchen is a member of the Youth & Mental Health group in our Strategic Philanthropy class.  In order to get to know her, and the cause, we asked her a few questions!


What is your major and your year in school?  

Sophomore majoring in Psychology and minoring in Public Administration.

Why are you passionate about Youth & Mental Health?

“My major is a huge reason that I am passionate about youth and mental health. I want to devote my life to improving the lives of individuals who have a mental illness. I have seen first hand how a mental illness can impact someone’s life, especially a school-aged child. It is important that we address these issues and provide the necessary resources to allow that child to have the best life possible.”

In your opinion, what is the most compelling statistic for this topic?

“When we were researching we found that 1 out of every 5 children have a mental illness. (National Alliance on Mental Illness, 2015) Sadly, a large number of those children with a mental illness never receive the proper health care to treat it”

What has been your favorite part of class so far?

“My favorite part of the class so far was when the three ladies who helped start this course, Gail, Nancy, and Lise, came in to talk with us. They are all very active in the community and have made their mark through philanthropy. it was really motivating and inspirational to hear what they had to say and I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to talk with them for a few minutes after class. In just an hour and a half of knowing them, they made me feel like there is always something that more that I can do. We can give back to our community in other ways than just through a monetary donation. After that class, I’ve started rethinking philanthropy and all that I can do to give back to my community because every little thing that is done makes a difference.”

Leave a Reply

